loading Loading please wait....

2015 International Historic Motoring Awards winners announced

2015 International Historic Motoring Awards winners announced Classic and Performance Car

The International Historic Motoring Awards honour the Dan Gurney and many others at the annual ceremony

The veteran racing hero Dan Gurney was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement trophy at the 2015 International Historic Motoring Awards.

The affable and modest American was applauded by a packed house at the glamorous St Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London for his prodigious driving skills, inspiring sense of sportsmanship, and life-long passion for innovation, both inside and outside of motor sport. Handing over the award, former racing team-mate Sir Stirling Moss spoke of his great respect for Gurney. 
Gurney’s accolade was the centrepiece of an evening during which the great and the good of the historic car movement were celebrated, and while not everyone could pick up a trophy, all nominees could truly be considered winners. Doing the honours on stage was the television sports presenter Steve Rider.  
Some of the names will be familiar, others less well known, but all of them were chosen after a painstaking selection process conducted by a 21-strong international judging panel comprising experts from all areas of the historic car world.
The evening once again proved to be as much about good conversation, reviving old friendships and making new ones as it was handing out trophies. And forming a spectacular welcoming committee at the entrance to the St Pancras Rennaissance hotel was a traffic-stopping squad of historic cars – the ex-Dan Gurney 1964 Brabham BT7, the incendiary Fiat S76, a continuation Lister-Jaguar ‘Knobbly’, and William Medcalfe’s million-mile Bentley Speed Six.
And this year’s winners are…
Club of the Year - Sponsored by Footman James 
Benjafield’s Racing Club
Industry Supporter of the Year
McPherson College Automotive Restoration Program
Motoring Event of the Year - sponsored by EFG Private Bank 
Chantilly Arts & Elegance Richard Mille
Motorsport Event of the Year - sponsored by Jaguar Cars 
Porsche Rennsport Reunion V
Museum or Collection of the Year 
Mercedes-Benz Museum
Personal Achievement of the Year - sponsored by HERO 
Julius Thurgood, HRDC
Publication of the Year - sponsored by Hortons Books
The Magnificent Monopostos: Alfa Romeo Grand Prix Cars 1923-1951 by Simon Moore
Race Series of the Year - sponsored by Lister Cars 
Classic Endurance Racing
Rally of the Year 
Royal Automobile Club 1000 Mile Trial
Restoration of the Year 
1971 Porsche 917, Porsche Historic Motorsports, Weissach
Specialist of the Year 
3D Engineers
Tour of the Year 
2015 Highland Tour
Car of the Year - sponsored by Octane
Fiat S76 ‘Beast of Turin’
Lifetime Achievement Award - sponsored by Richard Mille 
Dan Gurney

The awards are judged by a hugely respected and experienced international panel which includes Dr. Franz-Josef Paefgen (former Chairman of Bentley), car designer Peter Stevens, Shiro Horie, Editor in Chief of Octane in Japan, musician and historic racer Nick Mason, and Dave Kinney, historic collector and Journalist for Automobile and the New York Times.

For further information on the awards, please visit www.historicmotoringawards.com

Mercedes-Benz Classifieds

Octane, the essential read for every classic car enthusiast.
Try 5 issues of octane today for just £5 and receive a free welcome gift!
Evo, the world’s premier performance car magazine. Try 5 issues of evo today for just £5 and receive a free welcome gift!