loading Loading please wait....

Historic Motoring Awards 2018 – Shortlist announced

Historic Motoring Awards 2018 – Shortlist announced Classic and Performance Car

The shortlist for the 2018 Historic Motoring Awards has been revealed 

Now in its eighth year, The Historic Motoring Awards, in association with EFG Private Banking are the most prestigious in the industry, recognising the elite in the international classic automotive world.
Held on 25th October 2018 at the stunning Sheraton Grand London Park Lane Hotel, this distinguished gala night sees the celebration of a broad selection of categories, selected by the experts at Octane and an international panel of judges. The evening will be hosted by broadcaster and Formula 1 pundit Steve Rider, with Awards being presented to winners in front of a room of eminent guests.
The shortlist for 2018 has been finalised, and is as follows: 

Car of the Year

Lamborghini Marzal
‘Jabbeke’ Triumph TR
Aston Martin DB4GT Works Continuation
Bullitt Mustang
Porsche 911 RSR Turbo

Restoration of the Year

The ‘Jabbeke’ Triumph TR (Glen Hewitt)
Aston Martin Project Vantage (George Georgiou)
Lancia Flaminia Sport Zagato 3C (Thornley Kelham)
Lamborghini Miura (Lamborghini Polo Storico)
McLaren F1 GTR Long Tail (McLaren Special Operations)

Book of Film of the Year

Gaston Grümmer: The Art of Carrosserie 
by Philippe Grümmer and Laurent Friry, Dalton Watson

Derek Bell: All my Porsche Races
by Derek Bell and Richard Heseltine, Porter Publishing

Inside Track
by Phil Hill with Doug Nye, The GP Library

Reid Railton, Man of Speed
by Karl Ludvigsen, Evro Publishing

How to Build a Car
by Adrian Newey, Harper Collins

History in the Breaking (Mintex)

Jaguar XKSS: a Star is Reborn

Club of the Year

Aston Martin Owners’ Club 
Vintage Sports-Car Club
Cardigan Classic Car Club 
Talbot Owners;’ Club
Ferrari Owners’ Club 

Heritage Collection of the Year

Jaguar Land Rover
FCA Heritage

Motoring Event of the Year

Concours of Elegance
InterClassics Maastricht
Classic Nostalgia at Shelsley Walsh
The Festival of the Unexceptional
Retro Classics Stuttgart

Museum of the Year

Torre Loizaga
Cité de l'automobile
Museo Nicolis
Petersen Automotive Museum
Riga Motoring Museum

Specialist of the Year

William Medcalf Bentley
Classic Motor Cars of Bridgnorth
The Classic Motor Hub
Jim Stokes Workshops
GTO Engineering

Performance Car of the Year

Alpine A110
Aston Martin DBS Superleggera
Ferrari 488 Pista
McLaren Senna
Porsche 911 GT3RS

Bespoke Car of the Year

Jaguar E-type Concept Zero
Porsche 911 Reimagined by Singer - Dynamics and Lightweighting Study 
Paul Stephens Le Mans Classic Clubsport
Aston Martin DB5 James Bond Continuation

Race series of the Year

Formula Vintage
The 2 Litre Cup
FJHRA/HSCC Historic Formula Junior
HSCC Super Touring Cars
Group C Racing by Peter Auto

Motorsport Event of the Year

Goodwood Festival of Speed
Les Grandes Heures Automobiles
Lime Rock Historic Grand Prix
Zoute Grand Prix
Le Mans Classic

Breakthrough Event of the Year

Heveningham Hall Concours d’Elegance
Veloce Track Day
The London Concours
21 Gun Salute

Industry Supporter of the Year

EFG Private Banking
Osato Research
A Lange & Söhne
Mintex Classic
Richard Mille

Personal Achievement

Lawrence Whittaker (Lister)
Madan Mohan (21 Gun Salute)
James Brooks-Ward (Concours of Elegance/London Concours)
Nicholas Mee (Nicholas Mee & Company)
Patrick & Sylvian Peter (Peter Auto) 

The Vantage Award

Andy Palmer (CEO, Aston Martin)
Aston Workshop
Aston Martin Works
Noble House
Nicholas Mee & Company

The Enzo Award

Ian Barkaway
Sergio Marchionne
Kevin O’Rourke/Mototechnique 
Mark Lyon/GTO Engineering
DK Engineering

Rally of the Year

Bernina Gran Turismo
Trans America Challenge
The 1000 Mile Trial
Friendship Rally
Octane, the essential read for every classic car enthusiast.
Try 5 issues of octane today for just £5 and receive a free welcome gift!
Evo, the world’s premier performance car magazine. Try 5 issues of evo today for just £5 and receive a free welcome gift!